Company information | Bookshop | Links
Data protection | Imprint | Contact

Foreword to the printed edition

The necessary 3rd edition offered the possibility to add new terms especially from the field of refractory engineering. This dictionary contains now approximately 5600 terms from the spe- cial field of refractory materials, their testing and use and standard technical vocabulary.

For some technical terms, which are a result of rapid developments, there are still no appropriate words in the other language. Consequent- ly, they can only be translated in a general manner. New English tech- nical terms and some abbreviations are often simply taken over by the German language and, as a result, require an explanation.

The terms are arranged alphabetically. The German „Umlauts“ ä, ö, ü are sorted as a, o, u. In addition, „ß“ is featured as ss.

The abbreviation for the gender of the word is given in the round brack- ets ( ) behind German words: m = masculin, f = feminine, n = neuter; pl = plural and v = verb.

The square brackets [ ] contain explanations pertaining to the technical term – specifically if special terms are concerned.

Behind the language section there is a list of dictionaries focussing on related fields and technology. Furthermore, a list of CD-ROMs with terms used in the ceramic industry (German, English) and refractory industry (5 languages) is given. Further mention is made of cover-to-cover translations of books on refractory materials. A great assistance when learning the English and German technical terms in the refractorry field are the European standards EN and international standards ISO for refractories in the English language, which are translated to German standards DIN EN, DIN EN ISO and DIN ISO.

Gerald Routschka

 

Für den Inhalt dieser Seite ist eine neuere Version von Adobe Flash Player erforderlich.

Adobe Flash Player herunterladen

Vorwort zur Buchausgabe

Bei der notwendig gewordenen 3. Auflage des Wörterbuches konnten neue Wörter insbesondere aus dem Feuerfestbau eingefügt werden. Das Wörterbuch enthält nun ca. 5600 Begriffe aus dem Bereich der feuerfesten Werkstoffe, deren Prüfung und Verwendung und dem üblichen technischen Sprachschatz.

Für die durch die rasche Entwicklung entstehenden neuen Fachwörter gibt es zum Teil noch keine entsprechenden Wörter in der anderen Sprache. Sie können deshalb nur sinngemäß übersetzt werden. Neue englische Fachbegriffe und auch Abkürzungen werden aber zunehmend in den deutschen Sprachgebrauch übernommen, erfordern dann aber eine Erläuterung.

Die Begriffe sind alphabetisch geordnet. Die Umlaute ä, ö, ü sind wie a, o, u sortiert, ß als ss.

Hinter dem deutschen Wort steht in kursiver Schrift für das Geschlecht des Wortes: m = Maskulinum, f = Femininum, n = Neutrum; pl = Plural.

Die eckige Klammer enthält Erläuterungen zum Fachwort oder Synonyme, insbesondere, wenn es sich um spezielle Begriffe handelt.

Hinter dem Sprachteil folgt eine Auflistung von Wörterbüchern angrenzender Fachgebiete und der Technik, ferner von CD-ROMs mit Begriffen der keramischen Industrie (deutsch, englisch) und der Feuerfestindustrie (5-sprachig). Ferner wird auf Cover-to-cover-Übersetzungen von Büchern über die feuerfesten Werkstoffe und die Feuerfesttechnik hingewiesen. Eine gute Hilfe bei der Einarbeitung in die deutsche bzw. englische Fachsprache der Feuerfestindustrie sind die in englischer Sprache abgefassten europäischen Normen (EN) und internationalen Normen (ISO), die als deutsche Fassung als DIN EN und DIN EN ISO vorliegen.

Gerald Routschka

 

Für den Inhalt dieser Seite ist eine neuere Version von Adobe Flash Player erforderlich.

Adobe Flash Player herunterladen